Travelling in Taiwan

Hihi my darlings,

I am updating y’all on my travels in Taiwan right now! Haha, I know, why am I wasting my time in a cafe blogging when I could be out exploring? Well, because I’m on my way back tomorrow to the US, and I have finished all my shopping already. Plus, I have to meet up with my dad later and I do not have a phone to tell him where I’m at, so pretty much I CANNOT get lost in my own little world. Next time I’m out travelling I’ll be wandering all over for sure, but for now, I am in a much needed relaxing mode due to my tiring, stressful trip.

So why am I saying it’s stressful? I’m def. not as stressed as my dad was during this past week, but I’ve had my moments too of just being a good respectful granddaughter/niece. So let me explain this whole chinese new year scenario to everyone. In Taiwan, the culture is for the boys of the family to go back to the parent’s household the day before chinese new year, aka Chinese New Year Eve. During this day, there’s the usual big feast that needs to be made, and offered to the buddhist gods not sure exactly how to describe it other than that . So, it’s like cooking a Thanksgiving feast, plus the fact that you must go out and shop for all these ingredients the morning of, and make sure that we got all of the necessary dishes. And since my grandmother isn’t doing too well anymore, my dad had to cook this big feast, with the help of me of course, AND he had to cook practically every meal, with the help of me again, and I had to do the dishes too every meal. It was tiring also needing to bring the dishes from one floor to the other every meal for my grandparents to eat since my grandpa can’t walk well. But, I honestly didn’t mind all of that work. It was of course tiring, but I enjoyed spending the time in the kitchen with my pops, and serving my grandparents. What was stressful was my uncle…

So, I was already prepping myself for my uncle to get to my grandparents house (btw, we’re from farmer’s land so it’s very 3rd world country here, or maybe 2nd world since apparently a starbucks was just built in the town!). Anyways, prepping myself for my uncle’s comments. First things first, he gets here and makes a comment about my skin. He constantly comments on my skin having pimples and telling me what I have to do and what i shouldn’t do. Meaning things I should eat and things I shouldn’t. Also telling me how to be healthy, pretty much EVERYTHING I ALREADY KNOW! And yet in this asian culture, I have to be respectful and just nodd and agree and cannot talk back. THEN it’s the commenting about how I need to learn how to cook. Listening to him telling me how he used to cook when he was just in grade school, and how I really need to learn, and how it’s not difficult, and how I should cook…etc..etc… And what do I need to do? Just keep nodding and agreeing. I had practically a whole week of this. EVERY single EFFING DAY of him commenting on my pimples. Telling me I need to eat more fruit, and pointing out every single pimple. I know, just ignore him right? BUT you know you can’t ignore someone when they’re talking directly at you. So I just kept getting stressed about my skin more and more everyday.

On the bright side, I did buy a bunch of skin products and yummy stuff to eat to bring back to the US and to share! I got 3 mosquito bites on my face in addition to my acne, but I don’t care, I will survive! I have enjoyed spending tea time with my gramps everyday and giving my grandma hugs. =] I only have a few minutes left so I will post up some pictures later. Or you can view my instagram which I had posted some up already.

UPDATE…PICTURES BELOW!

11028237_10204509391798142_730900539_o

Dan Shui, Taipei

Dan Shui, Taipei

11028226_10204509500080849_1837624445_o

Dan shui, Taipei

Dan shui, Taipei

Eating Fish stomach soup. It was so delicious...

Eating Fish stomach soup. It was so delicious…

Off to Taipei, leaving the country land to go to the big city!

Off to Taipei, leaving the country land to go to the big city!

11024567_10204498559327337_541590113_o

IT WAS SO HECTIC! SO MANY PEOPLE!

IT WAS SO HECTIC! SO MANY PEOPLE!

10997958_10204476330411628_754742886_o

Post chinese new year, we went to Ban Qiao to pray.

Post chinese new year, we went to Ban Qiao to pray.

Sugar cane! You gotta chomp in these and just chew on it to soak up the sugar, and spit out the rest.

Sugar cane! You gotta chomp in these and just chew on it to soak up the sugar, and spit out the rest.

NAME THAT VEGETABLE!

NAME THAT VEGETABLE!

Daddy buying vegetables in the morning for lunch and dinner for the day.

Daddy buying vegetables in the morning for lunch and dinner for the day.

Tea time with my grandparents! Best time of day.

Tea time with my grandparents! Best time of day.

Chinese new year meal

Chinese new year meal

11001138_10204459316386288_603573522_o

Grandma praying

Grandma praying

I used to love doing this! Then one time it got too hot, and I got scared, but I think I'm old enough to not get burned, plus this is more safe, not like the open fire we used to do it with.

I used to love doing this! Then one time it got too hot, and I got scared, but I think I’m old enough to not get burned, plus this is more safe, not like the open fire we used to do it with.

Paper gold money that you need to burn, for prosperity...?

Paper gold money that you need to burn, for prosperity…?

The "gods" at our home we offer to on pre chinese new year day.

The “gods” at our home we offer to on pre chinese new year day.

Grandma getting accupunctured!

Grandma getting accupunctured!

Grandma washing the pan

Grandma washing the pan

Pre chinese new year offering to the "gods"

Pre chinese new year offering to the “gods”

11001493_10204458997058305_783869612_o

Daddy daughter time in the kitchen!

Daddy daughter time in the kitchen!

Daddy cooking chinese new year meal

Daddy cooking chinese new year meal

Trying to put eye drops in for gramps, he yelled at me cuz I missed multiple times and wasted the eye drops =/

Trying to put eye drops in for gramps, he yelled at me cuz I missed multiple times and wasted the eye drops =/

Gramps getting accupunctured.

Gramps getting accupunctured.

This fruit is called lian wu in chinese...not sure what it's called in english! Apparently it is in season, now. It tastes crisp, and sweet, a little juicy.

This fruit is called lian wu in chinese…not sure what it’s called in english! Apparently it is in season, now. It tastes crisp, and sweet, a little juicy.

10998441_10204457804708497_1311431372_o 10944577_10204457805428515_834788219_o

Front of the vegetable market in the morning

Front of the vegetable market in the morning

Love you all!

Leave a Reply

